MODEL CHIC FILES: Maria Lopez

 

Maria Lopez started modeling when she was only 3 years old. When she turned 15, the aspiring model joined a modeling program in high school where she met veteran Baltimore model, Jearlean Taylor. She booked her first shoot with Jeff from Jazzy Studios the same year.  Now, she is one of the top models in Charm City.


Get to know her below:

Are there any models in the industry you look up to?

My mentor Jearlean Taylor, she’s a cancer survivor, motivational speaker, author and is CEO of J & Company Christian Modeling In Christ. Her story is inspiring and I love everything she’s taught me and the models at JACC.

Quan Michelle, a plus size model. I’m so proud of her journey and going to New York and pursuing her career.

Sundae Renee , a pastry cook. She wants to start her own business while going to school.

Describe your personal style in 3 words.

Sporty, relaxed and edgy.


If you could only wear one Baltimore designer for the rest of your life, who would it be?

Syeko is edgy and feminine. It can be dressed up or down, which I love.

What is your favorite local Baltimore boutique or Baltimore fashion designer?

Scheron Harley. I love his designs. I’d go to prom every year or shut down a red carpet with his dresses. I’ve loved his tux designs, too.

What’s your beauty regimen like?

I don’t do too much. use Shea Moisture Mud Mask or  a Basic Turmeric Mask : combine honey, yogurt or milk with few tablespoons of Turmeric in a bowl. Leave the mask on for 20 minutes.

What is your top 3 fave modeling projects you have been a part of and why?

*Hair modeling. It can go from being in a show for three days to a small one hour show.

*Body paint. I would like to do more projects. The first one I did I was made into an alien. I felt like Zoe Saldana.

*Runway. It will always be my first love. I’ve been doing more print, but I love the running around backstage sometimes.


What advice would you give to aspiring models?

Some people won’t believe in your dream and you’ll hear “all Baltimore girls want to be models now”, but don’t let that discourage you. When you want something all the negativity around you won’t mean anything to you.
What would be your dream modeling job?

Being in ad like Covergirl or Pepsi commercial during a Super Bowl.


Who has been your favorite photographer to work with? Why?

Jazzy Studios. I’ve worked with both Jeff and Aisha. They are wonderful. You have so much fun working with them.

Who has been your favorite makeup artist you worked with? Why?

Takia Ross. I love her! She makes you smile. I love working with her.

Who has been your favorite hairstylist you worked with? Why?

I’ve worked with Aquage for CosmoProf’s Fashion Focus. I love them. I’ve worked with them since 2012.

