LOCAL CHIC FILES 2017: Mind Mash

The life of a fashion blogger is something many women dream of. But, the most powerful part of being a blogger is the connections you make. A few years back, Jamara Brown met another fashion blogger, Fei Mancho in Maryland. became good internet friends with and became highly inspired by.

mm10

“A little while after we met, Fei decided to launch a retail site named after her blog,” Brown said. She sold really beautiful vintage pieces and hand dyed tie-dye clothing. At this time, I was taking a break from college to really pinpoint what I wanted to do with my life. I was going from annoying job to annoying job, looking for my purpose. As I was struggling, I continued to watch The Fancy Muffin grow and become better. It was very inspiring to see a girl my age be able to make money doing what see loved and I wanted to do the same. So, with Fei’s blessing, I started MindMash in September 2014.”

mm9

 

MindMash is the place to find vintage, upcycled vintage and handmade clothing as well as accessories. A colorful polyester bomber jacket with a drawing of a geisha on it was the first item sold at Mind Mash. When it comes to curation, she looks for pieces that are in great condition and made with high quality materials. Often she is drawn to prints especially florals, faux fur and velvet. Before the 22-year-old vintage boutique owner created her Etsy clothing business, she had love at first sight with vintage during her junior year of high school.

mm2

“I was on YouTube one day and I came across a thrift haul video,” Brown said. I thought all the clothing was so wonderful and unique. I really wanted to go to a thrift store and get some for myself! So I took what little money I had and I went to a Goodwill. Everything in the store was so cool. I bought a huge bag of clothes. And at that moment, I was hooked.”

mm4

To this day, the Baltimore vintage lover still goes on hauls and all is captured on her Youtube channel called Flower(less). The art, coffee, video game loving vintage fashionista plans to add more handmade items to her shop, participate in popup shops and conduct giveaways. So, keep an eye out for Mind Mash in 2017.

 

 

 

 

 

 

