Where Are They NOW? Series 2017: Jessica Williams 

During my junior year in college, I was introduced to the Baltimore fashion scene by becoming a PR girl for a fashion week event. In 2008, I met a lot of designers. However, Jessica Williams’ designs always stood out to me. It was a hint of Betsey Johnson with an urban edge. These days, Jessica’s designs are more minimalist and streamlined.

It was in January 2012 when I featured Jessica on Ms. Charm’s Chic.  

1. What was your first impression of the blog, Ms. Charm’s Chic ?

I thought it was a great local blog working to bring light to Baltimore’s talent. I am glad to see Paulette is still working each day on this!


2. How have you evolved since your interview from 2012?


Omg! I have evolved in so many ways! I read over my last interview and I remember being so young thinking I was really doing something by having pieces in one store! Lol. I now have a close relationship with God. I’ve always known God thanks to my parents, but not like I do at age 25. Also, I have grown to be open to learning more each day.

3. What are you up to now? What are your plans for 2017?


Wow. I can honestly say 2016 was my most successful year. I have grossed my highest profits as an entrepreneur and began hiring staff and placed Irregular Exposure in over 50 retailers.
I launched the IEFashionAcademy.com to begin to assist emerging fashion entrepreneurs with starting their brands.
My plan for 2017 is to go even harder. I travel a lot and want to continue to travel to reach new audiences. I plan to bring a in person shopping experience for my clients this year. It’s something I’ve been working on and I’m excited to share.


4. Why do you think it is important for people to support small businesses?


Small businesses drive the community. We have to support those who try to pursue anything positive. However, I do believe we have to get out the mindset that it’s ok to have these hustles. That’s why I created the IE Fashion Academy. We have to learn how to do business properly rather than create inconsistent hustles. Everyone has the mindset to begin as a small business and elevate into a big business. We have to begin the transition into big business to be taken seriously and grow.

