FullSizeRender10

LOCAL CHIC FILES: Elyse of Nicole

Who loves long walks with their puppy, Dexter and going to brunch? It’s Nicole Dibos, a Baltimore jewelry designer that I truly adore. I literally brought up most of her decor section to decorate my newly improved bedroom.

IMG_5591gg

 

At the age of 26, she has a full schedule ranging from being a graduate student studying Mental Health Counseling to being a nanny two days a week to being an active member of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation of Maryland. Between it all, she manages her business, Elyse by Nicole, creating her signature tassel earrings, bangles, pendant necklaces and more.

 

“I create my designs by putting beads, pendants and other supplies together flat on my work table and then string them together,” Dibos said. Often I re- make a necklace, bracelet or earrings several times before I am satisfied with the end result.”

FullSizeRender9

With a designing motto of “I don’t make anything I wouldn’t wear myself”, Dibos is adding a bit of refined touch to the Baltimore fashion scene.

 

“Baltimore is very casual,” Dibos said.  Sometimes I dress up and if I go to a bar or just out to a casual dinner, I feel awkward in heels with a dress. [Well], everyone else is so casual. We should encourage dressing up.”

FullSizeRender10

Her is closet filled with vintage, preppy and bohemian influences. This easily transitions into her designs for Elyse by Nicole. For Summer 2016, Dibos is working on a lot of bright, bold statement pieces and timeless layering necklaces.

FullSizeRender7

“I have always loved jewelry, clothes and fashion,” Dibos said. Jewelry is a great way to dress up or change an outfit without having to buy new or different clothes. Just add a statement necklace to a simple dress and you have a new outfit.”

 

