MICA Fashion Star Spotlight: Aqeel Malcolm

Looking Back Series 2015

Ms. Charm's Chic

The “Ms. Charm’s Chic tradition” continues with sharing the fashion story of recent MICA, Maryland Institute College of Art, graduate. Some alumni featured on Ms. Charm’s Chic include: Erin Sudeck, Jordan Matthews, Christy Chong and Skylar Wilson to name a few.

I am happy to add Aqeel Malcolm to this list.

“I’m fascinated by the link between fashion and identity,” Malcolm said.   There is a tremendous amount of history and culture embedded in textiles and fashion, and there have always been a relationship between fabric, clothing, and the human body.  Before I discovered my love for Fiber art, I use to be an Illustration major.  My first class as a freshman at MICA was Intro to Illustration, and while in that class I immediately knew illustration was not meant for me.  So I dropped the course and enrolled into Intro to Fiber instead and absolutely enjoyed it!  That’s…

View original post 732 more words

