Unique Accessories with a Rare, One of a Kind Style: New Vintage by Sam

There is nothing like parading around in Versace and Gantos garments like a diva from Dynasty in your mother’s and aunt’s closet. Sam Smith’s obsession with fashion began exactly that way. 

“I was very intrigued by fashion, and as I grew older I became extremely vigilant in finding alternative outlets to nurture my creative side,” Smith said. 

 

10985516_885305141490287_8677367044896882475_n

While attending Morgan State University, Smith continued to hone her design skills in jewelry design while pursuing a degree in Health Education. Shortly after graduating in 2007, Sam Smith created New Vintage by Sam LLC.

“When I took a leap of faith, left my job and decided to follow my dreams full time,” Smith said. All I knew was that I wanted a life filled with purpose. It’s such a great feeling to know that I did the right thing. We aren’t put here on this earth to be… We are here to Live!  I never would’ve met so many amazing people if I had continued to stay in my comfort zone.  I’m so thankful to be able to share my story with the world.”

10408572_885305128156955_6233231797133498187_n

 

When did you realize you wanted to venture into jewelry design?

I’ve always had a knack for creating wearable art.  I can remember being 7 years old trying to make earrings from my grandmothers old chandelier.  I saw beauty in so many different places and objects and I wanted to figure out a cool way to wear it.

What inspired you to create New Vintage by SAM?

I appreciate one of a kind, rare wardrobe and fashion finds.  I was so frustrated with going to the malls and seeing everyone wearing the same outfits and accessories- almost as if they stepped right out of a Merchandising catalogue.  To me, there’s nothing worse than having no originality and wanting to look like someone else.

What was the first piece of jewelry you made for your business?

The first piece of jewelry I made was a pair of earrings!  My line has since evolved to include bracelets, necklaces and a wide range of unique accessories and up-cycled fashion.

10502155_885305158156952_8870413843063324241_n

What is your design process? 

I try to keep my design process very simple.  I often use music as a stimulant when I create.

I start with a good song or album, and an assortment of beads or other materials and just go for it!  Ideas are constantly circling through my mind- so I actually have a list of concepts, themes and design ideas that are in the works now.

How would you describe your personal style?

I appreciate timeless fashion, with classic pieces, and flattering silhouettes.  My personal style I would describe as a fusion of various eras in fashion- it’s New Vintage.  I despise trends and I prefer to wear what suits my lifestyle and my personality.

 

10982692_885305184823616_1652622426405489635_n

What are y our plans for New Vintage by Sam in Spring 2015?

Spring 2015 will be filled with expansion, more creative productions and collaborations.  You can expect to see more community service efforts,  NVBS products placement in more local boutiques and artisan shops, internationally.  We are also gearing up for Major brand events happening this Summer!  We will be sure to keep you in the loop 😉

INSTAGRAM: http://instagram.com/newvintagebysam

