Where They Are NOW? series 2015 : EMILY LI MANDRI

Who was the first person that I met in person for an interview for Ms. Charm’s Chic?  It was indeed, Emily Li Mandri, creator of Natty Paint, at Common Ground in Hampden. At the time, I had no car and it was pounds of snow on the ground. I walked many blocks to get an exclusive interview with one of Baltimore’s up and coming fashion designers.  I will never ever forget that moment.

 

Screen Shot 2014-12-14 at 10.02.12 AM

1. When you received an email for an interview from a journalism major college student with a fashion blog, what was your first impression of the blog as well as me?

I was excited that a student was interested in what I was doing and wanted to learn more. I thought the blog was fun and professional at the same time.

 

24777_694137890125_6788233_n

2. How have you evolved since your interview from 2010?

slideshow_3

I’ve moved to NYC, received my MBA from NYU Stern, and after receiving wholesale clothing orders from Urban Outfitters and working at other companies like Virgin Mobile, I’ve launched my own ecommerce/marketing consulting company called MLE Consulting which focuses on the fashion/retail industry. Here’s the link www.consultmle.com.

3. What are you up to now? What is the next big project or when is your next big event?

 

slideshow_1

I relaunch my clothing line under the Natty Paint umbrella.  The aesthetic is older, sleeker, and aimed at the young urban professional that loves statement pieces. I’m also building out my consulting company MLE Consulting.

4. Did you ever think Ms. Charm’s Chic would be around for 5 years? What do you enjoy about the blog?

 

Yes, because you’re passionate about what you do and you are recognized for it! You shouldn’t stop doing something that makes you happy and gets you recognition. I like that you showcase up and coming events and individuals in Baltimore. Those voices need to be heard!

