Ms. Charm’s Chic Throwback Edition: What I Would Bring Back From The 90s?

Not being typical has been a part of my DNA since the moment I was born. My motto of not fitting in was evident during my “elementary chapters” also known as 1990s.

Like most children, I enjoyed watching my favorite cartoons like Rugrats. On the other hand, I could not miss an episode of my fave fashion TV shows that included Fashion Files, House of Style and any opportunity I could see Joan Rivers commentary on the red carpet.

90sme3
Yep, that’s me around 4 years old. Totally having a “Clueless” moment before the movie came out in ’95.

The latest 90s trends were showcased by top Supermodels like Cindy Crawford, Naomi Campbell, Kate Moss, Tyra Banks, Linda Evangelista and the list goes on.

IMG_9057
Source: Pinterest

 

I watched how the 1990s fashion scene went from embracing preppy chic to hip hop streetwear to dark grunge days to every trend in between.

So, what would I bring back from 90s?

Sweater Swag.

 

Before you go “Huh, are you on some crazy juice?, let me explain why this phenomenon needs a comeback.

What's the Dillo with Sweater Swag? Zach from Saved by the Bell Source: Rebloggy
What’s the Dillo with Sweater Swag?
Zach from Saved by the Bell
Source: Rebloggy

 

In 2014, the following statement is consistently associated with sweaters:

“Almost that time of year to find the most gross vintage sweater for the Ugly Sweater party this year”

 

Back in the day, the sweater was about making a statement no matter how eccentric it looked or how un-functional it appeared.

It’s the one piece of clothing that transcend through all fashion trend groups of the 90s. Bill Cosby, the 90s sweater trendsetter, introduced sweater swag. His sweater wardrobe consist of geometric zig zag designs, bold visual scenes embedded in knits, and thousands of patterns as well as countless colors on one sweater.

Source: Collector's Weekly
Source: Collector’s Weekly

 

 

Source: Dr. Jays Live Blog
Source: Dr. Jays Live Blog

The Coogi sweater become a garment of status in the hip hop community thanks to legendary rapper, Notorious B.I.G. and other rappers in the 90s.  In the preppy world, the movie “Clueless” brought the fuzzy cropped sweater and cropped sweaters in general into the fashion scene forefront.

Source: Pinterest
Source: Pinterest

Even, Kurt Cobain could be seen in worn out, hole striped sweaters conveying the grunge lifestyle. Fresh Prince of Bel Air’s Carlton made tying sweaters around your neck popular. Blossom’s Joey made tying sweater around your waist cool.

Source: johndeboercustom blog
Source: johndeboercustom blog

 

Now, my 90s sweater fashions were of course, handpicked from my mom. Call me a weird child. The best part of back to school clothes shopping was finding my new signature knit for the year.

Yep, I'm in the middle. Rocking a sweater vest with colorful buttons. So, The Bomb! Right?!
Yep, I’m in the middle. Rocking a sweater vest with colorful buttons. So, The Bomb! Right?!
My own 90s sweater swag.
My own 90s sweater swag.

I spent much of my childhood well, in sweaters. Even on an 80 degree spring day, I would be outside playing with my buttoned up sweater on. Hey, this was before I developed sweat glands so totally fine. Right?!

An elementary school class photo could not be complete without me sweater-expressing myself.

 

Look at all the 90s fashion trends in this one class picture.
Look at all the 90s fashion trends in this one class picture.

Let’s stop giving the knitted wonder a bad name with these ugly Xmas sweater parties. Once again, let us all embrace the sweater as the powerful feel good garment it is. And, Yadda Yadda Yadda.

