BRINGING BRONX TO BMORE : STYLE HOUSE ACCESSORIES

One of my favorite places to discover rising fashion stars would have to be For Rent Shoes. It was back in May when I first heard about the Bmore Do More non-profit event presented by the owner of Style House Accessories. The mission of the non-profit is to help children attending Baltimore City Public Schools. This is very dear to Ms. Charm’s heart since my mother was a teacher for over 30 years in the Baltimore City schools. I knew I had to get in contact with this designing give-backer.
head shot

Meet Bronx native Shamaya House of Style House Accessories.

When did you realize you wanted to venture into jewelry design/fashion design?

I have always had a fetish for accessories and costume jewelry. I would go to every store even costume stores to find a certain type of piece. I got tired of looking for them and decided to try and start creating these designs I imagined in my head.   DSC_0070

What inspired you to create your line?

I would design things for myself, and the people around me started to take heed to my designs and requested orders from me. I thought about it for a while and decided to turn my new found talent of jewelry making in to a business. I started with just earrings different sizes colors and patterns. Eventually I branched off into bracelets, necklaces and now clutches. My style is heavily influenced by tribal art, African prints, and cultural colors. DSC_0338

What was the first piece you made for Style House Accessories?

It was a pair of Tribal Fabric Stud Earrings; I made about 12 pair and sold out of them immediately. That’s when I knew I had something good.

How do you go about creating a new piece?

The way I create designs vary. Some days I plan out a design depending on fashion trends and seasons, but most days I will see something in motion, watch something on TV or look back at old designers work and start creating from there. I’m usually spontaneous with my designs, as a result I create a lot of custom pieces. I like to create when I feel passionate about it. That’s when they come out the best. DSC_0289

How has your designs evolved since your first piece?

When I started I would just do simple button earrings in different colors and patterns. Then I started to get into hand painted shapes, hand stitched necklaces, and Clutches. I learned how to manipulate fabrics into shapes, and started to branch off into different textures. I also took more time with my designs to insure every detail was as perfect as possible. This was the best for people close to me because they would get the prototypes and give me feedback on things that would need to be fixed so the design could be perfect. I also began to design for men. I started creating bow ties and lapel pins. DSC_0310

What are your top three favorite items you made so far?

My number one item is a item I recently made. It was a white Rosette Fabric Clutch with a Soft Pink Lining and Gold Strap. I named her Chanel..lol DSC_0566 My second favorite would be my first Design my Tribal Fabric Studs.  And my thirds is actually no an accessory it’s a T-shirt I designed to help raise proceeds for Baltimore City Public Schools through my nonprofit BMORE Do More. 10389076_531859826940042_4984766903343842549_n

When you aren’t designing, what are some things you like to do?

I love to do volunteer work with children at after school programs. I also do a lot of community work for families during the holidays. Aside from my business I am in the process of starting my own nonprofit to benefit children in the Baltimore metropolitan area. The name of the nonprofit is BMORE Do More.   DSC_0460

I just want everyone to embrace the Style-House brand and get the chance to experience something you never have before. If you don’t already know about Style-House please visit the site www.style-houseaccessories.com.

