Musically Chic: Shelby Blondell

 Who is Shelby Blondell? 

She is young musician singer, songwriter, and performer from Linthicum,MD. For the past two years, she have been taking on her career to the next level promoting herself as a performer, singer and songwriter. She has had amazing opportunities to play with Howie Day, Aaron Carter, Ginny Blackmore, He Is We, The Scene Aesthetic, Plug in Stereo, Carter Hulsey, 2AM CLUB, Tiffiany Alvord, Sonia Leigh, Alex Goot and Luke Conard.

10374187_661382207248208_743067070_n

“But to me music is more then a note, chord or melody,or who I’ve played with; it is a feeling,” Blondell said. 

What do you remember about your first live performance ?

“Growing up I always did things like the talent show,” Blondell said.  It was just over 3 years ago when I decided I wanted to take music to the next level. My first show was at Recher Theatre. I had spent so many nights there watching other bands and now I had the opportunity to stand on the same stage. I was in my senior year of High School; I remember all of my friends and family coming out and even some teachers. I was so nervous backstage; no one had really heard my original music before. I remember the walk onstage and how the nerves suddenly left once I picked up my guitar.”

 

 

What’s the best part of performing live?

“The best part of playing live is being able to connect to an audience, Blondell said. For me,  my music explains an emotion. My hope is that through a line or a word there is a part of a song that an audience member can connect with even if it is just because they find it catchy. When I play live the best feeling is seeing someone in the audience smile, dance or sing along. It the greatest pat on the back! It makes me feel like my hard work is paying off. ”

 

What musical artists are you inspired by? 

“I am influenced by all kinds of music,” Blondell said.  Through my music the biggest ones that shine through would be Sara Bareiles, Gavin Degraw, One Republic, Katy Perry and Bruno Mars.

10361168_661381640581598_728632958_n

Describe your personal style in five words or less.

“Live,Laugh,Love,Dream,Believe, Blondell said. These five words are actually a statement that I use frequently when I perform or describe myself. I think we should all live to the fullest, laugh whenever we can and always love ourselves and one another. We should all chase our dreams and as long as you believe anything is possible.

 

Does your stage style differ from your personal style? Why or why not?

“I’d say my style is the same,” Blondell said. I always try to be the same cheerful and upbeat girl. Although I’ll admit when offstage I tend to be more shy at first. ”

What do you look for when picking out a stage outfit?

“When picking a stage outfit I first take into consideration the venue and event,” Blondell said. For instance when I played at the Meyerhof my Baltimore Soundstage outfits were a no go! I like to make sure that my stage outfits still represent myself but they are a little more upscale then what I would ware on a normal day. ”

 10388494_661384440581318_1544992228_n

Shelby Blondell PLANS FOR SUMMER 2014
“Summer 2014 will be filled with NEW MUSIC,” Blondell said.  I have a new EP that will be released as well as a lot of surprises at upcoming shows!”

 

Check out Shelby Blondell here: 

FACEBOOK
TWITTER
WEBSITE

