A Designer’s Dream Come True: The Moon Life Clothing

Nate Gonzalez always had a dream to start his very own clothing company. In high school, he teamed up with a few of his skateboarding buddies to create designs for a line inspired by skateboarding companies and punk rock. While at Towson University, Gonzalez spent most of his time working on projects for classes and working full time outside of school. Therefore, his clothing company endeavor went on the back burner for a little bit. It took one class to put him back on track.

moonlife_wheatpaste

“The idea of The Moon Life [clothing line] came in a summer digital design class I was taking when we needed to make a catalog and poster design advertising something,“ Gonzalez said. Two years later, once I graduated, I drove across the country, came back and knew it was time to do it, for real. The first piece of clothing I designed for the brand was part of that project I had for my summer class. I printed one of them back in 2011 with a little home screen printing set up, but they were just for fun. The first one that we actually released and sold to the public is the “Dream Cycle” design.”

direwolfcrew_frame2

The 24 year old Baltimore artist and designer of The Moon Life Clothing often draws inspiration for his line from: space, the Moon, old Sci-Fi, futurism, sacred geometry, ancient symbolism/illustrations, spirituality, psychedelic/punk music and art, record covers, skateboard culture, live music and street art. He is really into screen print, street artist and psychedelic poster artists like Victor Moscoso.

sacredsite_white

“It’s a combination of things really,“ Gonzalez said. I am really into everything about space. I love the Moon and love the symbolism it holds and how the Moon cycles can take control. There is something about how the Moon connects us all and how its bright, silvery light guides us in the dark night. Also, back in high school, some of best friends were in this band called Alarmed. I would go to all of their shows and they were some of the best times of my youth. The title track on their first 7″ release was called “The Moon Life”. I feel using the name is kind of a way to pay respect back to my roots.”

color

A new The Moon Clothing design starts with Gonzalez figuring out a theme or concept first. Then, he sketches and thumbnails by hand. From there, he transforms his design to the computer. All the shirts are hand screen printed by the hands of Gonzalez.

“We are launching some new products that we are very excited about,” Gonzalez said. I am planning on hitting the road and bringing The Moon Life with me to a bunch of different music festivals. You can find us teamed up with Proper Playground Clothing Company at their next Celestial Erotica event, too.”

 

