A Charm City Fashion Pioneer Always in Progress: Monster Lou

Back in September 2007, two friends, Pam Haner and April Camlin teamed up to put on the first ever Baltimore Fashion Week. One of the rising stars of this historic fashion week happened to be a 23 year old, Lindsay Michael of Monster Lou. She debuted her design point of view at their Ready to Wear showcase at Red Maple.

securedownload (2)

Since joining the ranks of Charm City fashion pioneers, Monster Lou has remained a timeless brand in Baltimore. Michael continues to create Harajuku fashion kids inspired clothing in her house studio packed with fabric, patterns and two sewing machines.

Monster Lou to me, is like a 50’s diner in Tokyo and The Cramps are playing,” Michael said. First word that comes to mind of a girl that wears Monster Lou is fun. I usually get the feeling that most girls that buy my clothes probably have a lot of kitchy things in their house.”

securedownload (4)

The self taught fashion designer isn’t afraid to learn more about design or improve her skills. From 2011 to 2012, the Monster Lou designer attended the Maryland Academy of Couture Art for pattern making.

“It’s been an on going, long process of learning and designing over the years,” Michael said. I find the more I learn about sewing and pattern making the cuter the clothes get. I feel this is important for all evolving designers to realize.”

Michael makes fun garments that can be worn everyday. From tops to sweaters to dresses to shorts to jackets to skirts, she thinks of each item as her very own Frankenstein.

securedownload (3)

“Most designs are thought up by staring into the depths of my intense fabric collection,” Michael said. Certain fabrics form themselves into certain garments in my mind. Then, I spend some time with a pattern and stop myself from wanting to cry before cutting up my lovely fabrics. Adding a small appliqued splash of color is like putting a cherry on top. Then I come to the realization of how glad I am with the finished product after cutting that fabric.”
securedownload (5)
This year, the Baltimore designer plans to work on new patterns and styles to continue the growth of Monster Lou.
“I love finding a handmade fashion line that makes people feel and express that they are fun and like standing out. Monster Lou looks forward to bringing spooky cute new creations to Baltimore in 2014.” – Lindsay Michael of Monster Lou

securedownload
