Raw Awards 2013: Nominees in Accessories

accessoriesnominees

Twisted Whimsy Designs

Twisted Whimsy Designs is created by an artist, dreamer, earthy Capricorn guided by the seasons and sun. This jewelry line focuses on sacred geometry, native talisman and inscribed words/phrases.

“My work represents the wonders of nature, celebrates my ancestors and gives life to the power and magic of our inner spirit.” -Creator of Twisted Whimsy Designs

(Photo by Paulette W).
(Photo by Paulette W).

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?
I actually had a couple friends who had done RAW shows in other cities and they had a ton of fun, so when Elisa contacted me about being a part of a Baltimore show it was a no brainer. The encouragement and support that RAW gives to the creative success of so many visionaries and artists is amazing.

What was the highlight of your Raw Baltimore experience?
Meeting and connecting with so many inspirational and supportive people.

What are your plans for 2014?
To step through my fears and apply to be a part of a few bigger shows outside of Maryland; like Renegade Craft Fair and Unique LA. Maybe a RAW show out west? I’m working on a fun new lookbook to help increase exposure and wholesale orders from independent boutiques and stores. I’d love to get to Burning Man in 2014. To visit friends on the west coast. To simplify and organize.

It may sound cheesy, but really, my goal for 2014 is to be able to create on my own terms, with my full heart, practicing gratitude for each moment I’m given.

Karyn Biddix

Karyn Biddix is a jewelry designer that gives old vintage jewelry/found objects a second life.

“As a kid I always wanted to make my own jewelry but back in the 70’s and 80’s I could never find anywhere that sold the components and of course, there was no internet back then! I would look at odd things and think, wow, that would look great as a necklace or around my wrist. No one could understand why I wanted to wear Christmas decorations, old pennies, scrap ribbon or oddly shaped pieces of wood.” -Karyn Biddix

(Photo by Paulette W).
(Photo by Paulette W).

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?

I was recruited by Elisa Wells and became inspired by the idea that RAW is a unique forum for unknown artists. It is a great opportunity to get my name out there and gain some experience showcasing my work in person (rather than online).

What was the highlight of your Raw Baltimore experience?

I received a lot of positive feedback on my jewelry from different people – other artists, one of the judges, guests attending the event and of course, my family. The feedback I received gave me some confidence that I didn’t even know I was lacking so it was a great experience.

What are your plans for 2014?

In 2014 I plan to focus my time creating different lines of jewelry so that customers will be able to view and purchase items of like design together. I also plan to vary those lines seasonally.

I would like to continue metalsmith work and expand into sterling silver. I have already starting practicing with brass and copper.

Additionally, I would like to start creating scarves – I personally wear scarves regularly and even with my limited sewing skills I think I perfect a scarf pretty easily! This will give me an opportunity to work even more with the many beautiful fabrics and laces that are available, particularly vintage items.

