RAWards 2013: Hairstylist of the Year: Tiki Spruill

HAIRSTYLISTDESIGNEROFTHEYEAR3

Tiki Spruill is a hair artist that has been doing hair for 16 years. She is a native Charm City stylist that has trained in Los Angeles, New York, New Jersey, Miami, Chicago and Washington D.C.

“My goal as a hairstylist is to tailor my work to the personality and lifestyle of my client keeping them current/on trend. During photo shoots I love to push the boundaries of beauty and add my signature which is typically a quirk of some kind; something that may seem like its out of place but it works. When I am in the salon behind the chair I like to make my client as comfortable as possible as I help them embrace the future. That is an art!” – Tiki Spruill

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?

Raw artist is a wonderful Idea that I am so proud to be apart of. I was invited by a friend Rae Beth, Accessory Designer. I reluctantly obliged, because of a lack of time and I couldn’t imagine how anyone could turn a restaurant, that I had frequented before, into a showcase for an omnium gatherum of preforming artist and it not be a disaster. Boy was I wrong! The shows are awesome! I was so excited about people having the opportunity to see the magnificent talent that Baltimore has to offer!

(Hair by Tiki Spruill).
(Hair by Tiki Spruill).

What was the highlight of your Raw Baltimore experience?

I would say the highlight of my Raw Baltimore experience was, again, seeing all of the other artists’ work. To me creativity is humans way of whispering to each other the messages that God whispered to them at birth about what life should be like. Seeing all the other artist visions was such a gift, and my highlight.

What would winning a RAWard mean to you? Why?

Winning Raw Artist, to me, would mean that I have been certified by my town, and my contemporaries as a Professional Artist who has permission to represent Baltimore and speak on the matter of hair trends. Sort of like an Ambassador of Baltimore. I would be very proud because I have a hunch that Raw Baltimore is not going anywhere. So not only would I be an Ambassador but I would be one of the early winners sort of like an OG!

(Tiki Spruill with other Raw Awards 2013 winners).
(Tiki Spruill with other Raw Awards 2013 winners).

What are your plans for 2014?

In 2014, I plan to show my supporters why they can be proud to call me,” The First Lady of Hair.” What exactly does that mean you ask? Well, you will just have to stay tuned to find out! You can follow me at www.facebook.com/marylandtopstylist and www.twitter.com/tiki_topstylist

