RAWards 2013: Photographer of the Year: Tim Prendergast

PHOTOGRAPHERDESIGNEROFTHEYEAR

Tim Prendergast is a Baltimore local that has been working as a photographer, designer and artist for over 30 years. He has a BFA in imaging and electronic arts.

“My current artwork consists of lyrical studies in emotional states utilizing color-rich, textural scenes in which to tell my stories.” – Tim Prendergast

Tim Prendergast photos displayed at Raw Awards 2013. (Photo by Paulette W.)
Tim Prendergast photos displayed at Raw Awards 2013. (Photo by Paulette W.)

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?

I came across RAW on a friend’s Facebook page and checked out the site. It looked like the art performance showcases I did in the 80’s so I took a chance and submitted. All within 5 minutes. Impulse.

What was the highlight of your Raw Baltimore experience?

The highlight of my time with RAW has to be the people. From the great talent and supportive staff I’ve had the pleasure to have worked with and shown beside to the never-ending variety of personalities who come to see the shows and buy our works.
For me, life is all about people… Making them smile, or cringe, or most importantly, making them think.

Tim Prendergast accepting his award at Raw Awards 2013.
Tim Prendergast accepting his award at Raw Awards 2013.

What would winning a RAWard mean to you? Why?

A RAWard would be a great boost to my momentum as a showing artist… It would definitely validate the efforts I’ve put into cultivating my craft as well as in my artistic vision.

What are your plans for 2014?

2014 will hopefully bring a new chapter in my work… Building upon the success I’ve enjoyed over the past few years of creating imagery that has challenged and entertained people, I hope to take my gallery shows into 3 dimensional installations as well. I want to create physical and perhaps interactive environments with the same textural and chromatic richness as my recent print work.

