RAWards 2013: Nominees in Film and Visual Arts

filmandvisualart

Gregorio Vazquez – Film Maker 

Gregorio Vazquez is a twenty-something who works on the craft of film and video production. He is going to school in Baltimore for Cinematic Arts. His  ultimate goal is to write for television.

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?

Seeing my colleague, Matthew Roe getting featured in a RAW event this summer. It just made sense to put myself out there.

What was the highlight of your Raw Baltimore experience?

Chatting with the local artists about their craft.

What are your plans for 2014?

Get in shape and make more films!

Jessica Engelbrecht – Visual Artist 

Jessica Engelbrecht is a visual artist with a wide range of art interests from painting to oil pastels to ink drawing to collage. Her work is often inspired by travels and the outdoors.

Jessica Engelbrecht art displayed at Raw Awards 2013. (Photo by Paulette W).
Jessica Engelbrecht art displayed at Raw Awards 2013. (Photo by Paulette W).

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?
My friend Claire encouraged me to start an Etsy.com site and put my work out there. Elisa from Baltimore RAW found me on Etsy and reached out to me with this opportunity.

What was the highlight of your Raw Baltimore experience?
It’s been a challenge to put myself out there in the public light and RAW has helped me build my confidence. Networking with the other artists has been a great experience. Feeling that support makes me feel like I’m part of a little art community.

What are your plans for 2014?
I hope 2014 brings more opportunities to get out there and share what I love!

Elena Cheney – Visual Artist 

Elena Cheney is a visual artist that focuses on digital design and illustration. She explores the psychology of color, emotion of stillness and vision of light in her piece of art she makes.

Elena Cheney art displayed at Raw Awards 2013. (Photo by Paulette W.).
Elena Cheney art displayed at Raw Awards 2013. (Photo by Paulette W.).

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?
I saw a lot of potential in the organization. I love the fact that events involve artists from various walks of life and that’s what makes it a very entertaining experience. Also, there is a lot of room for growth and exposure with RAW, and that’s always a great thing.

What was the highlight of your Raw Baltimore experience?
Being selected as one of the finalists for RAWards!!

What are your plans for 2014?
To make art, show art, and sell art! As well as focusing on personal growth and heading towards a successful future.


