RAWards 2013: Musician of the Year: La Veda

MUSICIANDESIGNEROFTHEYEAR

La Veda is a soulful, house music singer and performer that collaborates with musicians from South Africa. She has been on the stage since 4 years old writing poems and songs.

“I grew up listening to my fathers’ music, regularly hearing Jazz/Classical/Soul/Disco/Blues/Afro-Cuban and Portuguese. We saw musicals often, and I knew I would be a performer when I got older. I was classically trained in my early teens., then sang Jazz and Soul.” -La Veda 

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?

I was introduced to the RAW Baltimore site and thought it would be a fantastic way to be exposed to a new audience. I found it intriguing that at each showcase, all expression is included. It is rare to have a night of creative diversity. There is something for everyone to discover and enjoy.

What was the highlight of your Raw Baltimore experience?

To be chosen as a Finalist and Semi-Finalist, has been a surprise, an honor and quite thrilling!
I have made great alliances with other RAW artists, and I am blown away at the exceptional talent I have witnessed from the 2 showcases I have been a part of.

La Veda accepting her award at Raw Awards 2013.
La Veda accepting her award at Raw Awards 2013.

What would winning a RAWard mean to you? Why?

Winning the RAW Musician of the Year would be AMAZING! It would open up new avenues to tour new cities, not thought of before. But, a win or not, being a part of the RAW family, has already been priceless!!

What are your plans for 2014?

My plans for 2014 will be to tour nationally and internationally. More collaborations and releases. I will have songs featured in 2 independent films, and I am working on actualizing some creative ideas that have been on the back burner.

 

