RAWards 2013: Director’s Highlights – Kaitlin Newman

As we countdown the days to Raw Baltimore’s RAWards 2013, we are going to take a look at some of the Director Highlights of 2013.

Director Highlights 2013logo

To quote Elisa Wells, Director of Raw Baltimore: “I would like to thank all of the incredible artists that we have been lucky to work with and that worked hard. We appreciate each and everyone’s participation in RAWards 2013. We heart you Bmore artists!”

Be sure to check out Ms. Charm’s Chic for coverage and exclusive interviews with Raw Awards 2013 winners/nominees soon!

Kaitlin Newman

With achievements like Mobbie Award for Best New Blog 2012 and photographer for Baltimore Sun, Kaitlin Newman is so an artist to watch. After taking one photography class, the Towson University journalism major decided to discover the world of photojournalism.

“I’m inspired by the weird, the ugly, the strange and the awkward,” Newman said. My favorite thing to photograph is people, usually as themselves. I think that over Photoshopping someone or removing their “imperfections” is an injustice to the subject. I think that if it takes me longer to edit an image than it does to compose and create it then it wasn’t done right and it should be done again. I like to think that my photos capture real life, what you see in reality, but also show you something that you didn’t see before after the fact.”

Newman made her Raw Baltimore debut at Discovery in February 2013. I hear that Kaitlin likes Chipotle burritos, cats and thrift stores.

What inspired you to be a part of Raw Baltimore?

A friend did it and I become interested to join myself.

What do you remember the most about your Raw Baltimore experience?

Meeting some awesome people!

newman

What does it mean to you to be a Raw Baltimore Director Highlight?

I think it’s great. I’m glad my hard work this year has been recognized by someone so it means a lot to me. I am out there shooting all day every day and I have developed my passion into a full time business in this year. It took a lot of hard work and dedication to get this far and I still have a lot of work to do.

Check out Kaitlin Newman and her art:

Website

Facebook

