Musically Chic Series: Emma White

LOOKING BACK SERIES 2013

Ms. Charm's Chic

Singing the National Anthem can be a scary experience for anyone. For one Baltimore native singer-songwriter, this song inspired her to take a musical path.

“Well, my first [performance was around the age of 8 or 9],” Emma White said. I just remember my knee shaking uncontrollably.  I was so terrified. It was a little league opening in Baltimore. I had been playing baseball as the only girl on my team and the boys were starting to pitch. My mother suggested I quit so I sung instead. But, I was highly sensitive to any type of reaction from the audience as a kid. Even if someone told me they liked it or thought I was good, I didn’t believe them. So, my nerves were very much a part of my first memory of performing.”

Em_American_Flag_Baltimore

Fast forward to today, Emma White is graduate of Berklee College of Music that books shows…

View original post 566 more words