Nail Polish Guru: Sarey Booth-Neades of Chaos & Crocodiles

Figuring out what next nail polish to try can be a challenge within itself.  What happens when you nearly tired every nail polish in your favorite big box store? Of course, it will be time to find other options. The Baltimore nail polish guru, Sarey Booth-Neadles, always has some handmade nail lacquer worth giving a try.

Swatch_Collage-1

“I have so much fun designing and creating polishes,” Booth-Neades said. It’s really exciting working to get the colors, sparkles, and shimmers to come together to make a gorgeous bottled creation that also applies to the nails beautifully. All of my polishes are 3-free, which means that they are free of the toxic chemicals Dibutyl Phthalate (DBP), Formaldehyde, and Toluene. “

Booth-Neades started making polishes in 2011 for herself, family and friends. On June 24, 2012, she launched her nail polish business, Chaos & Crocodiles.

“When I first decided I wanted to create my own line, coming up with the perfect name was really important to me,” Booth-Neades said. I tossed around a lot of ideas, but I wasn’t satisfied with any of them. One particularly late night, I decided it was time to stop thinking and go to bed.

Winter

When I woke up the next morning, I was certain that I had decided to name my brand Chaos & Crocodiles. The weird thing was that neither of those words had been on any of my lists, but I was sure that this was the name that I was supposed to have – and I was completely in love with it! For me, Chaos & Crocodiles represents following my heart, living my dreams, and being bold and unique – what could be a better representation of my brand than that.”

The first nail polish made for Chaos and Crocodiles was called, “Rainbows All Around” that featured 20 different kinds of holographic glitter in it. The current version of “Rainbows All Around”  is now made with 50 different kinds of holographic glitter. The process of creating a Chaos and Crocodiles involves many steps such mixing bases and testing ingredients.

Booth-1

“When I’m ready to create a new polish, I choose from hundreds of ingredients, select the best base for the job, and start measuring and mixing,” Booth-Neades said. I write down everything as I work so that I can keep track of what I am doing. Oftentimes I make many, many prototypes before releasing a polish – changes that might seem small can have a huge impact. After the final polish is ready, I test it on my nails, take pictures, and design the promotional materials to go with the polish.”

 

There’s no doubt that she has a passion for nail polish.

“Out of the hundreds of prototypes that I’ve made, very few make the cut. But I can honestly say that I love everything that I’ve released,” Booth Neades said.  They have to have that special spark – I can almost always tell as soon as I start painting my nails, but the real test is whether I am constantly distracted by the polish while I’m wearing it. My top three favorites in rotation right now are actually a secret, because they haven’t been released yet.”

1003322_593379497369234_111891066_n-2

Beauty Extra (Keeping up with Chaos and Crocodiles):

“I am always thinking ahead and I’ve got some really amazing things planned! I release new polishes every month – sometimes they’ll be a collection, but sometimes they’re additions to the line, seasonal polishes, limited editions, or even one-of-a-kinds. The best way to keep up with the latest news is by following me on Facebook, where I post previews of the newest additions, online shop release dates, and future craft festival dates. I also update my blog pretty regularly and you can find me on Instagram and Twitter.”

Website: www.ChaosAndCrocodiles.com

Facebook: facebook.com/ChaosAndCrocodiles

Instagram: instagram.com/ChaosAndCrocodiles

Blog: ChaosAndCrocodiles.blogspot.com

Twitter: twitter.com/ChaosCrocodiles

