Musically Chic Series: Matt Hutchison

Let’s see, Matt Hutchison . . . he’s one fourth of the modern rock Baltimore band, Fools & Horses. He plays guitar effortlessly and writes his own songs.  And, he’s a talented, dapper solo artist that treasures the support of his fans.

“I am a guy who has been waiting for that feeling of being “grown-up” for quite some time, but I have come to believe that it may never happen to me,” Hutchison said.  I have been fortunate to have people in my life who tolerate my weirdness and career choices.  I am allowed, if not encouraged to be a perpetual dreamer.”

matthutchison

While living in England, Hutchison musical diet was Buddy Holly, Top 40 hits that his parents listened to in the car and other classic oldies.

Once he came back to the United States, he was exposed to artists like Radiohead, Foo Fighters, Green Day, Barenaked Ladies, Nirvana and Pearl Jam.

 “It took me a while to embrace the new sounds, Hunichson said.  It was such a culture shock for me. I’m still an old soul and always dig back into history for my inspiration, but today I find much influence from a wide range of artists too numerous to mention. 

I will say that my dial is constantly tuning between today’s Top 40 and 89.7 WTMD, stopping everywhere in between. “

 

How did you know you wanted to be a musician?

“I remember it very well,” Hutchison said.  I was about 5 or 6 years old, and I was just introduced to the Monkees.  Not too long after that, I found myself at Merriweather Post Pavilion watching them live with Weird Al Yankovic opening. 

I can clearly recall thinking it would be really fun to sing songs with thousands of people watching me.  I didn’t quite understand what Weird Al was doing, but I do remember watching him being rolled out on a stretcher.  I now know it was for “Like a Surgeon.” 

This love affair with the Monkees was short lived, as I soon discovered the Beatles and developed a huge admiration for Paul McCartney.  I was such a fan that I started putting his name at the top of my 1st grade school papers.  I was devastated when my teacher found out it was me. 

I guess I wanted her to say, “Who’s Paul McCartney?”  And I would jump and say, ‘ME!  I’M PAUL McCARTNEY!’  I knew from an early age that I wanted to get a group together and put on shows.  I would recruit kids on the playground to be a part of my band.  We never managed to put a repertoire together, as our band lasted only through recess. “

 Alley-Matt

What do you remember about your first live performance as a solo artist?

“My first really big solo show was at Rams Head Live!  opening for Carbon Leaf and the Civil Twilight,” Hutchison said.  I remember being very nervous, because I had played on big stages before with just an acoustic guitar, and it never felt right.  I got this gig at the very last minute, so I didn’t have too much time to spread the word. 

It’s a shame not too many people I knew were there for my set because I feel it was about the best set I have ever played!  The songs sounded great in the room. The audience could hear and react to my lyrics, and I genuinely felt that those that didn’t know who I was thought that they should.  I guess that’s the power of the big stage. 

Audiences expect something great when they come to a venue like Rams Head Live!, and I was lucky enough to meet that expectation.  Whatever doubts I had about my budding solo career were quickly swept away after this show.  I needed that. “

What’s the best part of performing live?

“I love being able to give my songs life,” Hutchison said. I couldn’t bear to see my words and music sitting on a page, stuffed in a filing cabinet for no one other than me to see.  Granted, some of my songs should never have left the darkness of the drawer, but I will never know what connects with the audience until I try it out.”

 

Describe your personal style in five words or less.

A modern-day, country gentleman. 

DSC_4165     

Does your stage style differ from your personal style? Why or why not?

“Not at all,” Hutchison said. I do put a little more care into my presentation for the stage than I do in going out to the bars, but both styles are largely the same.  I feel very uncomfortable in doing anything inauthentic.  In my long time as a musician, I have had many people give me advice, fashion or otherwise that I wish I had not taken.  I have learned to trust myself and my opinions.  That’s not to say advice is never welcome.  I’m just careful now to consider the source.”

Anything else you want to share?

“I want people to check out my friend David Hart: http://davidhartnyc.com,” Hutchison said.  He’s establishing himself as quite the designer in NYC.  His designs are classic with a fresh, new approach.  I have been lucky to wear some of his most excellent ties, one of which you’ll see in the photos!”

 Matthutchisonpoints

MATT HUNICHSON PLANS FOR SUMMER 2013
“I’ve got a lot of plans for the summer,” Hutchison said. I’m hoping to be a part of the local festival circuit, either with a full band, or solo.  I’ll be finishing up a studio in the basement of my new house, and playing local clubs when not doing anything else.  I’ll also be writing feverishly in between all of that!”

 

Check out Matt Hunichson here: 

FACEBOOK
TWITTER
WEBSITE

