Musically Chic Series: Eva Jade Landon

Eva Jade Landon decided to start her solo career 2010. The Baltimore native’s first album, “Loaded Gun” was released in 2011. 

In January 2013, the singer songwriter specializing in creating pop hits, released her new album “EVALution”. She is inspired by a variety of muscians.

“One of the biggest ones for me is Billy Joel,” Landon said. I just think he’s a complete mastermind, such an incredible songwriter and lyricist. I’ve also always been inspired by strong women so bands like Hole, Sleater-Kinney, Le Tigre, etc. were really influential to me over the years . . .especially when I was just starting out as a front woman.

My influences in pop music are a lot less specific. I have a big appreciation for producers, catchy melodies and hooks. I try and be versatile in what I listen to so that it will aspire me to be a better artist across the board.”

IMG_9319_-_Version_2

For over 10 years, Eva Jade Landon has been performing in bands of different genres.

Besides that, she is a fashion marketing major. Therefore, she was destined to be a part of “Ms. Charm’s Chic Musically Chic” series.

How did you know you wanted to be a musician?

“I don’t think there was one particular moment that really sticks out for me,” Landon said.  I’ve been writing lyrics and recording melodies since I was in elementary school.  I think music was always second nature to me.

Most people go a better portion of their lives trying to figure out what they want to do, but I’ve never been able to imagine myself doing anything else.”

 

What do you remember about your first live performance?

“Well, the first handful of bands I was in, I was the drummer,” Landon said. So,  it wasn’t really that nerve wrecking. I got to hide in the back. When I was in high school I started fronting my own band (guitar and vocals), our first gig I was completely terrified!

It was just at some high school tech center, but all my friends came out. I just remember standing there shaking the first two songs and praying I wouldn’t mess up. About half way through the set though I started to relax, and I’ve never had stage fright since. My fears are typically short lived.”

 SANY0022

Who are some of your style icons?

“Sarah Jessica Parker is probably my biggest one,” Landon said. I think Patricia Field is amazing.”

 

If you had to describe your personal style in five words or less, what words would you pick?

“Hmm… classic & chic meets edgy & arty,” Landon said.

 

What do you love about playing live?

“Absolutely everything,” Landon said. Playing live is when I’m most in my element. I think the best part is when you are able to feed off the energy of the crowd. It’s the ultimate adrenaline rush.”

 

E21

Have you ever shopped at any local boutiques? If so, where did you go?

“All the time,” Landon said. I love to shop local whenever I can. I have a number of different garments from local boutiques all over the country… Baltimore, New York, New Orleans, Los Angeles…  unfortunately the names of most of the shops escape me.”

 

What are your top three favorite stage outfits you have worn so far? Why?

“I really love the outfit I wore to the Indie Music Channel Awards back in 2012,” Landon said.  It was this black and gold Patricia Field dress accompanied by these great stilettos with lipstick tube shaped heels. I bought both the dress and the shoes at her boutique in New York City. I also have a lot of great inexpensive dresses I’ve picked up from H&M or Rainbow.  It’s really hard for me to narrow down my favorites. Sometimes I’ll even do something outrageous like wearing a neon facebook “like” sign on my dress.”

 

563143_409726829050964_1561094564_n

What do you look for when picking out a stage outfit?

“Just something fun, fresh and that fits well with the venue we’re performing at,” Landon said.

 

Does your stage style differ from your personal style? Why or why not?

“In a lot of ways, my style is the same,” Landon said. I definitely adapt fashion into my everyday life no matter where I’m going. I think the stage allows me to be a little more bold at times and push the limits on fashion but at the end of the day my style generally always matches my mood in that moment.”

530666_525612264129086_1134228040_n-1

 

Check out EVA JADE LANDON here:

 

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

WEBSITE

