Musically Chic Series: Lazer Libby

Back in 2009, I discovered Lazer Libby after seeing how fierce she looked in Diece Boutique’s website lookbook.  

For most of 2010, I could not get the Lazerbitch “Coquette” song, a highly addictive dance pop hit, out of my head.  

Being an avid supporter of anything local or Baltimore based, I thought it was time to combine two of my favorite things: fashion and music into one. 

Ultimately, Libby was one of the musicians that inspired me to create the new “Musically Chic Series” for Ms. Charm’s Chic.

I invite you to get to know the stylish half of Lazerbitch, Libby Picken:

How did you know you wanted to be a musician? 

“Singing has always come naturally to me,” Libby said.  I started singing along to Madonna when I was 4 years old. I told my parents that I was going to be a singer when I was a kid, but they never believed me. They do now! Singing, songwriting, and performing have always made me so happy.”

What do you remember about your first live performance? 

“Believe it or not, my first live performance was in 2007,” Libby said.  I had long, hot pink hair, and was wearing this super cute Custo Barcelona dress. I was flattered that so many of my friends had come out to hear me sing!”

What musical artists are you inspired by? 

“My inspirations really run the gamut,” Libby said. I admire Beyonce’s voice, and I love Jill Scott’s lyrics. I’m a huge fan of Billy Corgan’s writing, as well as Ian MacKaye’s.”

What do you love about playing live?

“The emotion, I really feel my lyrics when I’m performing,” Libby said.

Who are some of your style icons?

“I admire anyone who is fearless in their choices, and can pull them off,” Libby said. But, I’m probably more of a sucker for clean lines. I can’t choose any one person that personifies what I prefer. I like what I like, and I don’t like what I don’t like!”

If you had to describe your personal style in five words or less, what words would you pick? 

Unique, classic, clean, appropriate, easy

What are your top three favorite stage outfits? Why?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“I had this black dress that looked like it was made out of garbage bags,” Libby said.  I wore it for my Halloween 2008 performance. I miss that dress so much. It was attractive and different at the same time. I wore it unfinished to the gig, and returned it the next day to have it finished. The creator accidentally ruined it, and that was that.

My Custo Barcelona dress is another favorite. It’s very unique and comfortable. I’ve worn it to 3 gigs in different cities, which is more repeated that any of my other choices have ever received.

My third favorite was a pretty floral dress that I borrowed for an acoustic gig. It was the perfect mix of pretty, sexy, and comfortable. I almost offered to buy it off the person I borrowed it from. Then, I saw the price tag. lol.”

Does your stage style differ from your personal style? Why or why not?

“Absolutely,” Libby said. I am fairly lazy in real life. I like easy choices that don’t look sloppy, but that look like I put some though into them. I put a ton of thought and preparation into my stage outfits!”

SequinedJumpsuit

LAZERBITCH’S SUMMER PERFORMANCES

581817_459820880762088_1104251381_n-2

 

FACEBOOK

TWITTER

WEBSITE

 

