1 Year All Natural – Ms. Charm’s Natural Hair Anniversary

I can’t believe it was a year ago when I decided to let go of my flat iron and straightening comb to embrace my natural hair.

My natural hair journey is a bit unique because I have never had a touch of perm in my head.

Therefore, I didn’t really have to go through the typical transitioning period.

Over the years, I did have some heat damage and even burned off a chunk of hair in the back (thank goodness my hair is thick so you really couldn’t see it).

I was tired of flat ironing my hair and my hair barely keeping up a style for too long.

I was tired of buying hair pieces for special occasions. I was tired of going to the hair salon and hearing “I needed a perm or weave to have that hairstyle.”

The moment I saw myself in the mirror with my natural hair, I felt like I was being true to myself.

At first, I had no idea how I would wear my hair or how I would take care of my hair.

After a while, I developed a hair regiment of coconut oil, water, and sometimes shea butter.

I kept my hair in twists and I experimented with hairstyles.

How has my hair changed in a year?

My hair is growing. Of course, it’s not at a rapid pace.

My hair is getting thicker.

Where would I like my hair to be in 2 years?

I just want my hair to be healthy.

I don’t want to become a product junkie. However, I want to try to start using an organic shampoo to see if it will improve my hair.

