Ms. Charm’s Adventures: Charm City Fashion Show 2011

As you know, Ms. Charm (aka me) doesn’t have a car or a driving license (I’ll be working on that next month. I’ll tell you more about that soon).

I had to take one bus to the subway. Then, I walked down Light street to Key highway.

I decided to take a pit stop at the Inner Harbor. Sometimes I forget how beautiful Baltimore is. I sat on a bench for about fifteen minutes looking at the boats and all the buildings.

(Photo by Paulette W.).

Back to Charm City Fashion Show adventure: After that, I walked eight blocks to finally arrived at the Baltimore Museum of Industry. Of course, I was early.

I may be the only girl that does this: Carry your heels in your purse until you get to your destination. Swiftly, you change into your heels once you are at your destination.

Speaking of shoes, my outfit of choice was: new platform “Garren” sandals from Blowfish Shoes, Motel Rocks Bodysuit, Cheap Monday skirt, vintage gold belt from mom, ring from EOU!

(Photo by Paulette W.).

When I entered the Baltimore Museum of Industry, my eyes were easily drawn to the runway. I looked through some of my tables they had set up for Baltimore Fashion Alliance, BARCS, and more.

(Photo by Paulette W.).
(Photo by Paulette W.).

I became “like a fly on the wall with the secret eyes” for the first two hours. I’m so used to people watching and observing what’s going on around me because of my training from journalism school.

I’m not saying I do not talk to people because I do and I did. I talked to the parents of the designer behind Chela Vintage and a few other people.

(Photo by Paulette W.).

In all honesty, I wasn’t there to talk and mingle. I was there to see a fashion show and to see LAZERBITCH perform.

I love that the Charm City Fashion Show catwalk was fun like a Betsey Johnson runway. In Baltimore, we like to have fun at fashion shows and not be so serious.

The fashion show featured:  PEDXCHELA Vintage, F.L.E.X. Clothing, Adorn by Sarah LewisSixteen TonsMonster LouBabe (A Boutique)Couture ClosetWhimsy Boutique, and Christopher Schafer Clothier.


The song “Stand Up!” is  featured in the video and is from one of my fave local bands, Playground Etiquette.  Check out Playground Etiquette at www.pgeband.com!

Of course, I heart Natty Paint! I have about three Natty Paint garments in my closet right now. I knew that Emily Li Mandri would be debuting her summer 2011 line at Charm City Fashion Show and I was impressed!

Rompers, skirts, t-shirts, leggings, pants, dresses, and even an awesome rain cape! I will let you know when all the new stuff is online and I’m sure I’ll buy something.

I’m happy that the Charm City Fashion Show team saved the best for last: LAZERBITCH! Lazer Libby was rocking a red v-neck jumpsuit with super goregous gold wedge heels and Mad Max was rocking a fedora, black shirt, and black pants.

HELLO, the most stylish performers of the night. I finally met Lazer Libby in person. She is so awesome and sweet!

I had a great time! Oh, yeah . . . I didn’t walk all the back to the subway to get home. Thankfully, my cousin picked me and took me home. 🙂

