3 Quick Q’s: Susan Farrell of The Bijou Babe

You can always find rich colors of fall and spring captured in beautiful gemstones at The Bijou Babe. Susan Farrell is the designer behind this Ellicott City based jewelry boutique.

(Photo from Susan Farrell).

In her home studio, Farrell sits at her desk with a sunlight-pouring window creating her designs. She takes pictures of her jewelry on the same desk. She is always knows how to balances her work for The Bijou Babe collection and her family.

“When my children are in school, or after their bedtime, this is where I work, and I love the tranquility of it,” said Farrell. “I have it decorated in a way that I love, and it’s a happy place for me to work.  However, because I do have two small children, I need to be flexible.  So, I sometimes work in my dining room so that I can be with them and work at the same time.  Multi-tasking at its finest!”

Recently, I had the pleasure of talking to the jewelry-making mom about her eye gazing collection.

What inspired you to start your company, The Bijou Babe?

(Photo from Susan Farrell).

During college breaks, I worked for a jewelry store on the boardwalk of Ocean City, New Jersey.  The owner carried a variety of handcrafted jewelry from artisans all around the world.

I fell in love with the unique designs and my interest in jewelry making began. Then, it wasn’t until after I had my second child that I decided to make a go of it and turn my hobby into a full-fledged business.

How would you describe The Bijou Babe customer?

I think that my jewelry appeals to a variety of different women, of all ages and stages of life.

My customers range from brides-to-be, to stay at home Moms (like myself), to women in the corporate world, to grandmothers and retirees.

I strive to make timeless pieces, ones that are classic in nature, but have a bit of a modern edge or a fanciful twist to keep it intriguing.  This way, my jewelry appeals to a wide-range of women. Hopefully, there is something in my shop for everyone!

(Photo from Susan Farrell).

What are three items in your Etsy shop that you are in love with?

I’ve been busy lately creating new pieces in anticipation for the holiday rush, so my three newest pieces that I’m in love with are: the “Lever du Soleil” necklace, the “Paris” earrings, and my all-time favorite is the “Secret Garden” necklace.

2 thoughts on “3 Quick Q’s: Susan Farrell of The Bijou Babe

Leave a Reply

