3 Quick Q’s with Shannon Delanoy of Sweet Pepita

One of the coolest children’s wear designers in Baltimore is Shannon Delanoy of Sweet Pepita.

Her clothing line is named after her daughter, Pepita. She started the line to provide eco-friendly apparel for children.

We couldn’t stomach the idea of our daughter wearing clothing that came out of a sweatshop,” Delanoy said. “We wouldn’t ever want her to work in unsafe or unfair conditions, so we didn’t think we should give our money to companies who are built on these low ethical standards. I wanted to start a business that my husband and I would want to support.”

Recently, I had the pleasure of talking to Delanoy about living green, expanding her company, and her cool DIY projects.

I hear you are expanding your children’s line to adult wear. What made you want to expand Sweet Pepita?

From the beginning, folks have asked for adult sizes. I resisted expanding at first because it’s just me doing the production. I wanted to make sure I’d be able to keep up. I’m really happy I made the decision to grow. It’s so awesome seeing my work on adults.

One of the shirts from Sweet Pepita upcoming adult line. (Photo

What is your favorite DIY project that you have come up with so far?

I think the T-shirt kits are my favorite in the DIY line. It’s a good feeling getting people to dust off their sewing machines. Everyone used to sew, but then came sweatshops. Folks suddenly could buy clothing for less money than they needed to spend on fabric alone. But there is a human and ecological cost to buying goods made in these factories. I like encouraging people to re-learn this skill. I think everyone should know how to sew.

Sweet Pepita DIY kit

Why do you think it’s important for Baltimoreans to embrace green fashion?

It’s in our nature as Baltimoreans to set ourselves apart from the mainstream. We want to be different and unique.  Wearing fashions created from recycled material is an easy way to do that. When we choose to support ecologically and socially responsible businesses, we build a stronger, healthier world for ourselves and each other. Taking just one small step will inevitably lead to another.

4 thoughts on “3 Quick Q’s with Shannon Delanoy of Sweet Pepita

Leave a Reply

