Ms. Charm Tips: Vintage Can Be Modern (Incorporating Vintage Into Your Closet)

30 Jan

My love for vintage began in 2009 as  a college student at Towson University. Like most sudents, I didn’t have pockets filled with bills.  

Before I started Ms. Charm’s Chic, I was a fashion blogger for my first blog, Sweety P Style Files (2007 to 2009) and was a blogger for a few local fashion event blogs. 

Unlike Ms. Charm’s Chic, I didn’t really have a clear direction or identity for my first blog. However, I always had an interest in my hometown’s fashion scene.

Ms. Charm circa 2009 in a vintage dress from Diece Boutique

Ms. Charm circa 2009 in a vintage dress from Diece Boutique

Enough about that, Diece Boutique was my introduction to incorporating vintage into my wardrobe. Shabdiece Esfahani, owner of Diece Boutique, had racks and racks of vintage that fit into my budget. I would go back week after week to add a touch of vintage to my outfits.

One of my many vintage hauls cira 2009.

One of my many vintage hauls cira 2009.

Of course, I discovered more vintage boutiques over the years like Fashion Attic and The Wise Penny. To this day, I like to mix new and old into my closet.

Adding some vintage to your closet can do wonders so never fear. 

“I think for a lot of women who might be unfamiliar with vintage two things come to their minds. 1)Vintage is costume-y, uncomfortable, dated looking. 2) Vintage is only for cool young hipster art school types.

The second one especially. I often get the ‘oh my (insert name of family or friend they think is cooler than they are here) would love this, but it’s not for me’.

Twiggy circa 1960s

Twiggy circa 1960s

I think once people realize that vintage clothing isn’t all taffeta and polyester they loosen up and see how easy it is to incorporate. Then in a few short months, they’ll be wearing sequined ball gowns to the grocery.”

-Stacey of Gogo Retread Threads

New to vintage?  Think about what decades of clothing you are drawn to.  Are you drawn to the 1960s dresses in your mother’s closet or are you wishing you could have  1920s inspired pieces from the Boardwalk Empire series?

Once you find your preferred decades, apply each decades trends to flatter your body type and to how you style your outfits.  

One of Ms. Charm fave decades is the 1970s. Inspired by model, Pat Cleveland.

One of Ms. Charm fave decades is the 1970s. Inspired by model, Pat Cleveland.

From there, I reccommend starting off small with vintage accessories. In the beginning of my vintage journey, I added my mother’s vintage belts to my outfits and I wore scarves I found at local vintage shops.

Ms. Charm's other decade is the 1960s. Inspired by, Diana Ross and The Supremes.

Ms. Charm’s other decade is the 1960s. Inspired by, Diana Ross and The Supremes.

“A perfect way to incorporate vintage into a modern wardrobe is using something old, something new. I love to mix and match pieces. Your vintage pieces will look current and unique. Pairing a vintage blouse and a necklace with a newer styled pencil skirt with a high boot may work great event if accessorized with a vintage clutch. It’s all about balance when styling.”

-Camille Edwards of Bmore Betty

Rebecca-Minkoff-SS-2013-1-538x358-1

To avoid looking  like a “walking decade”, make your vintage pieces your own by simply mixing up. Be inspired by your vintage treasures to achieve a more modern look.

“Don’t walk out of the house in head to toe vintage or you can risk looking too costumey. I always mix a key vintage piece with something new and modern. A vintage day dress with a modern belt and heels or a vintage blouse with skinny jeans and great accessories. Mixing it up is the secret.”

-Christina Wells Hernandez of Heart of Vintage

